Can someone suggest an enclosure for me?

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • BasiCEvil
    • Feb 2006

Can someone suggest an enclosure for me?

Looking to start a DIY project for a sub.

Seeing that I live in a condo building that shares floors ceilings and walls with others, I can't go over the top and totally rock the house. But, the building is mostly poured concrete and braided steel with brick seperation walls, so I don't have to be totally silent.

The sub will deal mostly with 50% HT and 50% Music as programming.

I'd like a sub that can give me good fill with lower volumes, but also provide a nice rumble during explosions at high volumes without distortion.

Lastly, the enclosure cannot be higher than 24 inches.

This is my first time and I have a friend that is a very good carpenter with all the tools and skills that will be needed.

I would appreciate any links to readups that I can do.

Thanks in advance.
  • ---k---
    Ultra Senior Member
    • Nov 2005

The size of the enclosure will be based on what driver you use and whether you decide to go sealed or ported.

Have you picked out a driver yet? What can you get in the Bahamas? Are you willing to pay to have one shipped from the states?
    - Ryan

CJD Ochocinco! ND140/BC25SC06 MTM & TM
    CJD Khanspires - A Dayton RS28/RS150/RS225 WMTMW
    CJD Khancenter - A Dayton RS28/RS150/RS180 WTMW Center

Comment

• BasiCEvil
      • Feb 2006

There really aren't any drivers available here in the Bahamas, so I will have to pick one up when I go to USA.

I also have a freight forwarding service that I use, so I can get the driver as quickly as anyone in the USA can get it, with the extra cost added of course.

So, yes, I am willing to pay the extra cost.

I am thinking about a 12" just to keep the box size and amplification needs within reason. I could be totally wrong on my thoughts on this, so please correct me if I am.