X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • DarrenT
    • Jul 2005

Trying to save a friend from HTIAB!

I have a friend with a budget of < $500.00 and he wants to replace his toasted home theater in a box. He is looking at buying a new one and I cannot let it happen. Is there a speaker design suitable for home theater that would leave enough $$ left over for an AV Receiver? Not looking for anything fancy here, just some decent speakers and enough of a reciever to do DD and drive the speakers. I have lots of experience with building speaker designs that are out of his range but not with more budget oriented designs.

I used to have a link to a refrubished Marantz site where I regularly found receivers for ~$200.... I'd like to find something in the $150 range to make the speakers budget more realistic although it is quite slim.

I'm doing some research now but figured with the collective knowledge here I could get some helpful advice for my friend.

Thanks!

Darren
    Darren Thomas
    www.garagehobbies.com
  • KeithM
    • Oct 2005

B3S with a 12"quatro
    or 12" dayton RS and a250W amplifier with materials cost should leave enough for a basic receiver. He might need to go over a little bit if he wants the RS sub. You could also save 30 dollars by getting a 120 watt sub amplifier. I hope you can convince him that DIY is the way
    I'm currently using the B3S project as a pair of computer speakers and am very suprised I built a pair that sounded so good for around 55 dollars.

Comment

• DarrenT
      • Jul 2005

Quick question about the computer speakers...what are you using to power them? I was considering building some computer speakers for work.
      Darren Thomas
      www.garagehobbies.com

Comment

• KeithM
        • Oct 2005

I'm using a 3.5mm to 2 RCA cable going to a cheap receiver I got at a garage sale. From there it's a stereo setup.

Comment

• Marzen
          • Jul 2005