X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • wrz0170
    • Jan 2006

1st DIY Sub

Hi everyone,

In one of my newbie threads about the Modula, I mentioned that I was making a sub using the Dayton 12" RSS315HF and the 500w amp, Dayton HPSA500. I would like to share what I did.

It is finally done and exceeds all expectations as far as looks and sound. Because I am very new to DIY speaker building, I still struggle to figure out what all the charts I see mean and all the dizzying numbers and math. What I CAN say, after putting in the War of the Worlds and listening, one word comes to mind. WOW. By way of comparison, I had a stock JBL 130W, dual 8" sub. I think the specs had it around 40hz+. Oh and there really is no comparison between the two.

Some particulars:

It's an 18" cube using 45 deg. miters for joinery.

I used the look of The Drake for the looks as I really liked the chamfered look.

I used the dimensions at Zaph Audio for my construction.

The finish was done by a friend of mine who did a fantastic job. He did 2 coats of sanding sealer, 2 base coats of black paint and 2 coats of textured black paint.

Anyway, here are some pics of my finished sub. the whitish stuff around the driver is paper towel fuzz when I tried to wipe some of the MDF dust off. Talk about a pain to get the stuff off.

Images not available

Thanks for looking!

William
    p.s. can't wait to start on the Modulas
    Last edited by theSven; 15 August 2023, 14:33 Tuesday. Reason: Remove broken image links
  • JonMarsh
    Mad Max Moderator
    • Aug 2000

Looks quite nice, William! :T

I just got a batch of the 10" RS265HF in, wish I could start working on them this weekend, but the day job is interfering. You did a nice job and the cabinet, and the finish your friend did looks fine in these pictures!

~Jon
    the AudioWorx
    Natalie P
    M8ta
    Modula Neo DCC
    Modula MT XE
    Modula Xtreme
    Isiris
    Wavecor Ardent

SMJ
    Minerva Monitor
    Calliope
    Ardent D

In Development...