X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • kvardas
    • Dec 2005

The Soup Speaker

Hi, I am intrigued by the "Soup" speaker - design available here: https://web.archive.org/web/20070823....com/Soup.html.

As a woodworker, I think it would be a fun project to tackle, but I am disappointed about the cost of the Accuton (Thiel & Partner) drivers. It would be great to obtain feedback from anyone who has made these speakers and their thoughts on the overall results.

Thank you considerably,

Kris
    Last edited by theSven; 14 August 2023, 14:47 Monday. Reason: Update url
  • KeithM
    • Oct 2005

I think Jon did a design with a similar cabinet for a lot less money. He'll probably come by this thread and post it.

Comment

• ThomasW
      Moderator Emeritus
      • Aug 2000

This is as close as we get..

Last edited by theSven; 14 August 2023, 14:48 Monday. Reason: Update htguide url

IB subwoofer FAQ page

"Complicated equipment and light reflectors and various other items of hardware are enough, to my mind, to prevent the birdie from coming out." ...... Henri Cartier-Bresson

Comment

• JonMarsh
        Mad Max Moderator
        • Aug 2000

Tony Gee (NL) has done a number of fun designs he's posted on the web.

It would be very ungracious of me to nitpick some aspects of his design, but being a Virgo, it's really hard to avoid.... so if you build a project like this, you get more of the value back from these rather expensive drivers. (Hey- I like expensive, don't get me wrong- but the implementation counts, too.

The enclosure looks nice esthetically and is much easier to build than the way Avalon implements it. OTOH, it doesn't have the rigidity of a true Avalon stye enclosure (I've yet to see a European clone that does). But it looks well braced, and I like the esthetics. :T