X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Sarahbee
    • Jun 2005

New to DIY

Okay, so I'm finally venturing into this world and outting myself as a total newbie to DIY efforts. My goal is to be able to do some simple projects around the house before moving on to the real stuff...I want to be able to put up shelves, help with the cabintry, hang pictures...those sort of projects

First step, as I understand, is to get some tools. Planning to go to Sears to pick some out...thinking one of their companion home owner sets would do the trick. Also planning to get a cordless hand drill. Any tool kit/drill recommendations?
    "We have so much time and so little to do. Strike that, reverse it." - Roald Dahl, Charlie and the Chocolate Factory
  • Interious
    • Jun 2005

Do you ultimately want to build loudspeakers?

Dave

Comment

• Andrew Pratt
      Moderator Emeritus
      • Aug 2000

Welcome to the DIY sarah :T

Comment

• DarrenT
        • Jul 2005

Sounds like Sarah mistook this forum for a handy person type DIY forum. This forum focuses on DIY audio, mostly speaker building Sarah, is that what you were after?
        Darren Thomas
        www.garagehobbies.com

Comment

• Dennis H
          Ultra Senior Member
          • Aug 2002

Hi Sarah,

I think you're on the right track for getting started. With one of the Sears sets and a cordless drill, you'll be able to do lots of stuff around the house. Be sure to get drill bits and screwdriver bits for the cordless drill. Using it as a power screwdriver is one of the best things about owning one.

Comment

• Sarahbee
            • Jun 2005

Sorry if this is the wrong place...I saw the mention of Cabinentry and thought that I'd find some smart DIYers here!

Dennis, any recommendations on what brand to buy at Sears?
            "We have so much time and so little to do. Strike that, reverse it." - Roald Dahl, Charlie and the Chocolate Factory

Comment

• DarrenT
              • Jul 2005