X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • madclown99
    • Jul 2005

Which kit should I cut my teeth on?

Hi, complete newbie here to the world of DIY audio. After much research and reading, I'm going to build my first set of speakers. It'll be 80/20 HT/music. Adire has a lot of backers for their kits, as does GR... I've read reviews/comparisons between GR Research and Adire speaker based kits.

What I haven't read are comparisons/reviews between the Modula MTMs here and the Adire speaker based kits (from Raw Acoustics, DIYCable, etc.). Anyone want to comment or suggest?
  • JonMarsh
    Mad Max Moderator
    • Aug 2000

Well, it's sort of a different thing- we're not selling anything here, not offering turn-key kits or whatever- maybe you would say we're for the more hardcore DIY crowd? And becasue we're not selling anything or promoting anything commercially, there's no effort to get internet based reviewers to review something...

Most of my personal interest is in larger, more complex systems, but I've done these other designs (and use them myself, too) for those who'd like a moderate cost speaker employing the same thinking and design concepts. Besides the Modula MTM, a few folks have built the Natalie P (lower cost approach to the crossover) and been quite pleased. That and the Elaine Marie grew out of the system design I did for my daughter in 2003.

If you're not feeling adventurous, and want everything delivered in one box, then go with one of the commercial kits. If you want to take a bigger step into DIY, but aren't ready to design for yourself yet, then maybe one of the projects here will interest you.