X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • JohnL
    • Dec 2004

Cauer-LSPCad question

Hello Guys, I just downloaded the demo of LSPCad last night to play with doing some Cauer filters. How long should it take to optimize a 2-way network? I set the thing up with a cauer on the LP and a 3rd order electrical on the HP and got it fairly flat, set it to optimize last night at about 9:30pm and it was still optimizing this morning at 6:30am. It's only a P3 1.5 ghz, but does this seem a bit long to anyone? I've never used this particular program before, I was just wondering if I was doing something wrong?

Thanks,
    John
  • JonMarsh
    Mad Max Moderator
    • Aug 2000

Hello John, and welcome to Missio Possible DIY!

LspCAD never stops optimizing until you hit the stop function; it's not like the versions of SoundEasy or my old DOS based CACD. It reports on the degree of error and just churns away.... Now, are you trying to optimize the whole design at one pass (high pass and low pass?) or are you setting the acoustic transfer function targets for the high pass and low pass seperately and optimizing those... the latter is the recommended procedure. I rarely rely on LspCAD for doing a complete "flat response" optimization, becuase the crossover points could wander, the filter transfer function could wander, etc. This isn't the way to use the tool. You want to consider what your goal is and set the acoustic transfer function for each driver, knowing how they should sum in the final system.

Don't forget to specify the right driver polarity for complete SPL summation- for example, for L-R 4, thats positive polarity on both drivers; for Butterworth 2, L-R 2 and L-R 8, that's inverted polarity for the tweeter. Third order can work either way, chose that which produces the best power response for the specific front panel and driver acoustic offsets.