X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • davidfunke
    • Oct 2004

New DIYer speaker project

I am relatively new to the DIY world. I have built a tumult based sub, an av15 sub, and some TB full range computer speakers with cherry veneer that look very nice. I would like to build some inexpensive speakers for my bed room. I am fascinated with this stuff and my woodworking skills are getting pretty good. Eventually I would like to build a full kick ass system, but I want to start slow. I know a kit is the best choice. I would like to assemble the crossover myself so I can get some experience.

Any suggestions of a very inexpensive set of speakers to build to get me started. Maybe a budget of $150 or so for parts not including wood. I have an old infinity sub, so it doesn't need to go below 60 hz. Size is not a real issue. I am looking for the best possible sound for the money, to start working on my speaker building expertise.

David
  • cdwitmer
    • Sep 2004

Especially if you have a subwoofer, my personal inclination on your budget would be to go with a fullrange driver. Unless you want to add a supertweeter, you won't get much crossover experience from that. (Crossover experience isn't all it's cracked up to be.) In the realm of fullrange drivers, besides the usual suspects such as Fostex, there is an interesting newcomer you might want to look into:

The 16-ohm version (nice for wiring multiple units in parallel) is on sale $99/pair until Nov. 15. The 8-ohm version is no longer available at the introductory price. Depending on your listening tastes, this fullrange driver may require a supertweeter, as it started off life as a tiny woofer. The bottom end is (reportedly) so good you may find you have little need for that sub.

Comment

• Hank
      Super Senior Member
      • Jul 2002