I have questions about a Sony TV? Please assist me?

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • BKSinAZ
    • Feb 2003

I have questions about a Sony TV? Please assist me?

just went to Circuit City and pretty much decided on getting the Sony 50" Grand WEGA™ SXRD™ Rear Projection HDTV KDS-R50XBR1.

As some of you might know, I had my heart set on a plasma but have been very disappointed with the over all picture quality and refresh rates while watching sports.

Does this Sony TV have a better responce time than a plasma?

Other than mechanics, how would you compare this Sony against a Plasma..your opinions about it's performance?

When did this Sony TV come out? I mean if I buy it now, will a newer version come out in a few months?

Although I am not a professional like most of you, I believe the picture quality of this Sony was better then the best plasma that I have seen so far in a $3000.00 range on cable tv. I will ask you what do you think?
    Last edited by BKSinAZ; 13 May 2006, 23:08 Saturday. Reason: New info
  • aud19
    Twin Moderator Emeritus
    • Aug 2003

IMO, it's a FAR better set than most plasma's. As I mentioned in your other thread I believe Sony's SXRD is the closest thing to CRT picture quality (ie: the best) available from a digital display currently. Plus it has the added benefits of a digital display (generally higher resolution, smaller cabinet etc)

Due note that is likely to be replaced with a newer model in the not too distant future. The most noticeable difference I've heard is that it's supposed to accept a 1080p signal via it's HDMI input on the newer model. (The current model only accepts 1080i) Otherwise if you can get a good price on it it's a great set. The best price I'd heard was around $3500 I believe, which is a fair bit above what your budget was. So if you're getting it for less than $3500 it's likely not a bad buy :T
    Jason

Comment

• BKSinAZ
      • Feb 2003

Found one for $3100.00