• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • fjhuerta
    Super Senior Member
    • Jun 2006

New project has come alive. Seas 27TBFC / Peerless 830884 TMM

Hi all,

I have everything I need to start building my new tower speakers. The plans are:

1) TMM, Seas 27TBFC on top, Peerless 830884 woofers on a TMM configuration.
    2) Ported alignment, 4" port.
    3) 96L enclosure size, tuned to around 30 Hz.
    4) 1" chamfer all around.
    5) 2" front baffle (MDF), 1" MDF all around.
    6) XOver point around 1.4 KHz, 4th order, L-R.
    7) Front facing port.

The design is inspired on the JBL L250, although (obviously) it's vastly different - this will be a 2.5 way, with a much smaller woofer. I also found the baffle shape helps quite a bit with tweeter diffraction.

These are the basics. I just delivered my plans to my local furniture builder. I'd love to hear any opinions on the driver configuration and positioning I arrived to. I have no experience with TMM speakers, so any help is greatly appreciated!

This is the front baffle configuration. The base is quite wide - 45 cms. This is because, in order to get 96L out of the enclosure, I'd need a box 40 cms. deep (quite deep for my room, actually).

I may build the columns a bit slimmer (40 cms. wide) and build the box 45 cms. deep. It doesn't really affect baffle diffraction measurements. Any ideas or hints? I'd assume a slimmer baffle would look prettier.

Click image for larger version

Name:	shape.gif
Views:	7616
Size:	82.0 KB
ID:	868469

This is the baffle diffraction I'd be expecting:

Name:	FR.gif
Views:	7530
Size:	11.5 KB
ID:	868470

I think the tweeter diffraction will be easily controllable, and considering the 27TBFC's dropping response below 1.7 KHz or so, it may actually be helpful for the crossover point I'm looking at.