X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • chasw98
    Super Senior Member
    • Jan 2006

Calculate enclosure for 15 inch sonotube...again

My first post here. I have a BFD, an EP2500 amplifier, and a 10 yr. old Klipsch 10 inch 150 watt sub. The Klipsch doesn't cut it any more. I want to buy a 15 inch driver (RL-P15, Tempest 15D4, AV15, Titanic MK III, Oaudio TC2, or AA 15). I want to put it into a sonotube type enclosure. Where is the best place to start to calculate internal volume, and port diameter and length. I have never done this before. I know who Thiele and Small are but I do not know what their numbers mean at all. I've played with WinISD PRO but don't really know what to do with it. I have read that you tune the enclosure, but I know that the mix of driver, enclosure, and port (in a vented design) all involve tradeoffs. I am not wealthy enough to make 2 or 3 subs in order to get it to sound good. I watch mostly movies and would like the sub to go very low (20 Hz) very cleanly (oxymoron?). The room is 2688 cubic feet (15' 10" X 24'8" X 8') There is an adjoining kitchen (12' X 11' X 8') with a 4 foot entryway and a hallway (15' X 3' X 8'). Size and placement is not a factor. Are all these drivers close enough in their parameters that 1 enclosure would work well for any of them? Can anyone say just build a 24" diameter sonotube 60" tall with an 8" port 22" long and I will be fine? I don't know. I am waiting for Ascendant to have their new 15 inch driver available before making my choice. I have spoken with Chad a couple of times now but have no specifications on the forthcoming driver. All the rest of the drivers I have accumulated T/S parameters on. Any ideas? Where do I start? Thanks.

Chuck

PS I have a woodshop and a machine shop at my disposal so building and fabricating is not a problem.
  • KeithM
    • Oct 2005

download winISD or unibox. You can get enclosure size, response, port tube size, and a bunch of other stuff to help you build it.

Comment

• ThomasW