X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Antony
    • Feb 2019

What Parasound

I finally bought a Parasound P7 Preamp Halo,with a Power Amp A51 & JC5 power Amp. The three devices were meant to power my 4 Surround Speakers,2 Front A/B Stereo FloorStand Speakers,1 Center & 1 Powered Sub. However the P7 HALO Preamp won’t work since the source sound is coming from a Digital Source(TV-With a Digital Audio Out-Optic). The Parasound P7 HALO doesn’t have a digital audio(Optic) input.
    The dealer allowed me 10 days to have the device(s) returned for a replacement.
    Given the options below,kindly advice the Devices i should choose to power all my Speakers Harmoniously :

*Parasound 2.1 Channel HALO Preamp P6
    *Parasound 2.1 Channel HALO Int’gd HINT 6
    *Parasound Controller HALO C2
    *Parasound JC5
    *Parasound A51

One device may not power all the 8 Speakers hence a need for a combination of two or three devices .
    Also,i’m new to the world of amp/Preamp and this has really confused my decision on a Amp/Preamp Combination to use.
    A connection diagram would be of great help to guide in tandem connections.

Kindly advise

Regards
  • Kal Rubinson
    Super Senior Member
    • Mar 2006

None of what you list is suitable for your described goals. (Mebbe the C2 controller but it is ancient!)
    First, the A51 has only 5 channels and it cannot run 7 speakers. You need 2 more power amp channels.
    Second, is your source stereo, DolbyDigital, multichannel, etc? Is this your only source?
    Third, this is a major investment and your dealer should not have offered to sell you something unsuitable. He/she should know better. Do you have any other equipment?
    Four, I think what you have listed is way overkill for a system where the only source is TV-With a Digital Audio Out-Optic).
    Five, You may be much better off with a good 7.1 AVR or a 7.1 prepro plus a 7 channel amp.
    Kal Rubinson

Comment

Working...
    Searching...Please wait.