Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • sdl2112
    • Mar 2006

Introducing the SSA-WG

This is my first build of my own design. I have been mentally designing it for years. There were always more questions than answers but now I'm ready to start the build.

Name:
    The SSA-WG is a 3-way Scan-Speak Accuton WaveGuide project.

Drivers:
    Woofers: 2x Scan-Speak 22w/8857T00 (parallel)
    Midrange: Accuton C173-6-090
    Tweeter: Scan-Speak D3004/6640 mounted to a Jantzen Waveguide

Crossover:
    Duelund with approximate crossover frequencies of 300Hz and 2150Hz

Bass alignment:
    Will be capable of sealed or ported. I can reach desired targets for both alignments with the same volume enclosure (details to come).

Cabinet:
    46-47"H x 11.7"W x 17"D

approx 68L net bass
    approx 13L net mid

1" Bamboo ply sides and back
    2" Bamboo ply baffle
    18mm Baltic Birch internal bracing
    1/16" lead mass loading mid cabinet + some bass lining

cabinet sketch

Click image for larger version

Name:	2015-10-09_1951.png
Views:	1
Size:	19.4 KB
ID:	871467
    Last edited by sdl2112; 07 July 2019, 20:13 Sunday. Reason: Final configuration
  • 5th element
    Supreme Being Moderator
    • Sep 2009

Awesome! This should be an excellent design both subjectively and objectively. You could reduce the C2C distance by routing into the waveguide but you might not want to do that.

Troels does this himself I believe as do I in one of my projects.

I would be tempted to mount one of the bass drivers as close to the floor as possible and have the other one mounted as close to the mid as possible.

This should help smooth floor bounce, give you increased bass sensitivity by having one woofer floor loaded and help improve mid to bass integration by having one in very close proximity to the mid.