X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • 5th element
    Supreme Being Moderator
    • Sep 2009

Sparks and wires time!

So I've mentioned a couple of times about the SB65WBAC full range driver and how one of my projects for them is a bluetooth loudspeaker for a family member. Well I figured it'd be nice if I posted about them a little. A bit like Jon, although not by trade, I am more a sparks and wires guy than a making sawdust type. Don't get me wrong, I love building loudspeakers, but I always end up with a soldering iron in my hand far more often than I do the router!

So to get the ball rolling I'll start with a picture

These take heavily after CJD's Pecorinos with the idea of using a cast aluminium box and replacing the faceplate with something else. With this build used a powder coat black painted box from Hammond and replaced the front with some Yew that I scrounged cheaply from ebay.

The driver rebates were cut using the Trend inlay kit that I mentioned in another thread.

Where I clamped the driver in a vice by the magnet, screwed a piece of MDF to the top of the driver via its screw holes (counter sinking in the screws) and ran a bottom bearing template cutter around the drivers basket in order to create an MDF version that I could use with the inlay kit. If you decide to do this you must remember to tape up the rear of the driver in order to stop any dust from getting into the delicate parts. The SB65 is particularly sensitive to this as it has a very well ventilated spider and has holes perforated within the voice coil former. The last thing you want to do is clog up the motor with MDF dust.