X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Adrien
    • Sep 2006

First time sub

Hey guys, I'm just getting into HT stuff but I always try to DIY in all of my hobbies. Looks like a good place to start in this one is a Sub. I've done a bit of lurking around and I just wanted to run my first little project by the rest of you.

Pretty simple really...I plan on using this driver:

With this amp:

And then building a down firing sealed enclosure per the Manufacturer's Specs.

Anybody see a problem with this?

One more thing, the total cost will probably be around $150. Will this DIY sub (assuming I build it properly) outperform a pre-made brand name sub in the same price range?

Thanks!

Adrien
    I tend to bounce from one expensive hobby to the other...
  • Inu_Yasha
    • May 2006

Honestly I would go with a metal woofer for protection and longevity. It's up to you though in the end. For a little more you could get this and it ships free:

Comment

• jonathanb3478
      • May 2006

Or, what about these (price in USD):

Use this area to place widgets or custom HTML for your visitors. This is a custom widget displaying a summary of a chosen page. It would automatically get the excerpt of that page and place it here (or wherever you place the widget).

Even adding the appropriate CAD number below to one of those, they make sense to me for your situation:

Good luck with whatever you decide!
      Experience is a hard teacher because she gives the test first, the lesson afterwards.
      -Vernon Sanders Law

Comment

• Adrien
        • Sep 2006

Thanks for both recomendations.

It would appear that I should consider a different woofer, but the amp I've chosen is suitable?

Thanks,

Adrien

Comment

• SJetski
          • Sep 2006

Originally posted by Adrien
          Anybody see a problem with this?

One more thing, the total cost will probably be around $150. Will this DIY sub (assuming I build it properly) outperform a pre-made brand name sub in the same price range?