My first attempt at passive crossover design. Comments welcomed (VituixCAD)

Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Mark HT
    • Dec 2021

My first attempt at passive crossover design. Comments welcomed (VituixCAD)

This is my very first attempt at a passive crossover. Drivers are Bliesma T25B and M74B with data taken from Bliesma datasheets.
    I have these drivers on order and intend to cross them actively to a pair of woofers.

Any comments? I have a few months until the drivers arrive and just want to get some practise in before I can take measurements and
    start work designing the final crossovers. XO is 2.8k but I also tried going up as far as 4k. I plan to experiment with active XO before
    finalising the design to see what audible effect there is by changing the XO point.

I have attached the VituixCAD project and would be interested to see how some of the seasoned pros would attack it.

Any advice is much appreciated.

Click image for larger version

Name:	T25B-M74B_2800hz.jpg
Views:	1
Size:	98.8 KB
ID:	872623
    T25B-M74B_2800.zip
  • tktran
    • Jan 2005

Looks like a solid attempt. Good work.
    Some questions - I take it you’ve simulated it on the baffle you intend to use?
    Vituixcad also has a Diffraction simulator and you could simulate off axis responses
    And/or you could use bliesma’s supplied diagrams.
    You could also incorporate the 30 and 60 degrees off axis; which is important.

Comment

• Mark HT
      • Dec 2021

Thanks for the reply. I haven't simulated on baffle but it will be mounted in wall so minimal baffle effects.

I will definitely incorporate off axis but at this stage I was just after a little reassurance I'm on the right track.

FYI Here is a pic of the response with the mid (un)inverted:

Click image for larger version

Name:	T25B-M74B_2800 SPL inverted.jpg
Views:	1
Size:	33.1 KB
ID:	866380

Comment

• tktran
        • Jan 2005