Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • bostonmurf
    • Jul 2014

Statement project begins

I decided to take the plunge into the DIY speaker arena and after careful selection and reading many online forum reviews/builds and a few emails with Jim and Curt (thanks guys!) I chose to dive in head first and build the Statements.
    My overall plan is to create a 5.1 system to replace my current speakers - I'm new to home theater and have built a very nice affordable set up in the last 2 years but feel like i want something really special now.
    The Cabinets are going to be very slightly different form the plans, I decided not to have a wide base but instead to keep it the same width and depth as the main cabinet. I ran it by Jim first to make sure it was ok.

I have some woodworking skills and a few tools I’ve collected over the years, still lacking a few items though like a router so I spent a few hours in the local harbor freight tool store.
    Heres how things lined up tool wise
    table saw
    jig saw
    router
    drill press/ regular drill
    oscillating tool
    palm sander
    table mounted disc sander

next stop consisted of a trip to home depot to get the wood, 3 sheets of 49 x 97 (3/4) and one the same size but 1/2 in. Very helpful staff cut the wood into 3 pieces that I measured out earlier and fit comfortably into the back of the jeep.

Day One
    off to a good start, perfect weather to be outside and no dust in doors makes for a happy marriage! managed to get everything cut, table saw a little tricky with the large side pieces but everything else was a breeze - wondering if i should have opted for a circular saw? anyway i can sort out any minor problems with the trim bit on the router. does MDF stand for Makes Dust Fly? glad I’ve got the mask at hand.

no garage unfortunately so there taking up residence in the man cave

Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2014-08-13 at 10.55.32 PM.jpg
Views:	2654
Size:	65.8 KB
ID:	871347