Typical need help A-typical sub build!!!

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • here.now
    • Jun 2008

Typical need help A-typical sub build!!!

Hey folks,
    Been a long time coming for me to DIY sub and have a need for something rare/good looking. I want a large dual open baffle sub to add to my setup. If not two curved cabinets for UM18s but wanted to build something different before i resort to a build that's been done before.

Quick breakdown of my system:
    Denon x4300h
    Natalie P towers for mains
    Modula MTM center
    DIY test atmos speakers built out of some bi-polar ceiling speakers i got at a resell store
    Active berhinger truth for surrounds.
    Dayton RS1202K - dead plate amp now being run by one channel of behringer NU6000dsp

I want to use the second channel of my NU6000dsp to run either a large open baffle sub, or two UM18's in sealed curve cabinets.

I'm a woodworker (thanks audio hobby!) now and have a full shop so complexity is not an issue and am planning on using a large butcherblock table as the baffle in either the open or sealed build.

2 questions -
    What's your thought on adding an open baffle sub to this settup vs two sealed?
    What tools can i use or can someone help me model an open baffle with two subs? the slabs of maple butcher block i have are 36" by 36" and 30" by 48" can cut down to any size.

Thanks way in advance and i appreciate all of you for your hard work and dedication! Have been a long time member on the forum but only pop in once and a while.

Let's build something cool and different together! Was thinking of power carving either build (open baf/sealed) and making it into a work of art.

Best,
    Jeff
    My Stack Rack Build
  • ThomasW
    Moderator Emeritus
    • Aug 2000

Reality bites ...Unless a builder has very deep pockets, a huge room that will allow for a massively large baffle, the best that can be built is an OB woofer not a true OB subwoofer.