Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Bugeater75
    • Dec 2016

Bugeater75's Statement II Build

Here is my thread on my Statement II build. I know that there have been a lot of previous Statement build threads that I have read that helped me and answered some of my questions, so I figured I would try to contribute a little if I could. I would like to thank Curt, Jim, and Brian for their work on these and for sharing their design work.

Some background – I am currently running a 5.1 setup with NHT M6 speakers that have served me well for the last 10 years. However, I am planning on moving my HT setup to another room and replace it with either a 2.0 or 2.1 system. I have always wanted full range speakers and have been eyeing the Statements for years. I am a hobbyist woodworker, so the prospect of building the cabinets is appealing to me. The only build aspect that makes me nervous is veneering the cabinets. I have not veneered anything before so any tips or tricks would be appreciated. I am planning on using a 1” round-over on the vertical edges of the front baffle and then used a paper-backed veneer.

So far, I have started cutting the panels. There is not much to see yet, but I have attached a few pictures . I am not sure how long this build will take, but life is pretty hectic right now so I do not anticipate setting any records for quick builds. Thanks for reading and any words of advice!

Click image for larger version

Name:	20161229_164705.jpg
Views:	1
Size:	67.0 KB
ID:	872115Click image for larger version

Name:	20161229_221528.jpg
Views:	1
Size:	57.3 KB
ID:	872116
  • jwanck11
    • Jan 2016

Congrats!

My only word of advice is to get your measurements and cuts exact. Once introduced, a 1/16 difference on any "inside" seam" can get out of hand downstream. In this case, measure 3X cut once really applies!

Comment

• theSven
      Master of None
      • Jan 2014

Bugeater75 Did you ever complete this build?
      Painter in training

Comment

Working...