Sub-woofer connection (Powered and passive)

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • wingclip
    • Dec 2015

Sub-woofer connection (Powered and passive)

Hi Folks,
    First let me say hello! My name is "Rich" and I am new to the HT Guide site. I'm 60 years old, and from 1980 to 1990 I was an avid audiophile that could never afford the equipment I wanted but managed to afford a complete "2nd or 3rd class" setup of components that certainly was a cut above the 'everyday' stuff. Back then, (and even now), if I had the money it would be Mcintosh amps & pre-amps, Klipsch speakers, Thorens tables, Fostex or Teac decks, etc. etc.

Long story short, I got out of the audio-intense hobby, (sold all my components many years ago for peanuts), and in the last 25 years, I've forgotten almost everything about high-end stereo equipment that I had ever learned! I'll try not to bore you all with too many details but if you want some that I don't mention, by all means, ask and I'll fill you in.

About a month ago, I decided to buy a good used, Akai Reel to Reel so I could play my mastered tapes and transfer some of them to CD, (uncompressed). The deck isn't as good as the one I had but the idea was to spend as little as possible and rebuild or repair anything that needed it. I just bought two used, integrated amps, one Sony TA-AV431 and one Yamaha A-700. In the process, I found myself wanting to get a sub-woofer and that's where the question lies, (for now, anyway).

I'm looking at a used ONKYO SKW-380 Subwoofer which I believe is "passive". I'm also looking at a Polk audio sub-woofer RM6750, (http://www.ebay.com/itm/POLK-AUDIO-S...3D141843020030).

I never had a separate sub-woofer in my system back in those 10 years and so I never had to think about how I would hook one up if I had an amp that didn't specify a connection for a sub-woofer.