X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • cfbuck
    • Jan 2007

Finalist Build With a Couple of Wrinkles

My Brother-in-Law wanted a pair of speakers that could be placed close to the wall for the tiime being, but perhaps have a different location when he moves so that they are more conventionally placed. After a search of the DIY published builds, it looked like the Finalists fit the bill admirably.

I am a hobbyist woodworker with no crossover skills but I follow this forum frequently just to admire the work of Curt, Jon and others. I have built a few speakers with designs by Dennis Murphy, Troels Gravesen and Jeff Bagby. So this thread will be only about construction techniques that I use and mostly of interest to those new to speaker building in general and the Finalists in particular. I will try to also augment Curt's build manual with some tips for new builders.

The wrinkles--I'm going to use mitred joints with biscuits on all panels except the front inner baffle and the outer baffle will be solid hardwood. So I will be pointing out the pitfalls and some of the ways to overcome the tendency of hardwood to move with humidity changes and therefore open up splits, bow away from the cabinet or possibly torque a driver frame out of shape. I am not reccommending that hardwood be used generallly for baffles but when I saw Jim Salk's (www.salksound.com) early cabinets I shamelessly copied his style. As an example, my Avatar has solid cherry front baffles. I have been lucky to have avoided splits so far and I do like the look.