X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • silvia0073
    • Feb 2016

Absolute Noob at wood working and am building Jim's Statement IIs

Ok, I've been a long time browser of htguide, just never registered. You guys are an absolute treasure trove of knowledge! I've recently taken the plunge into diy and to start out, as a first ever project, built Jim's TriTrix speakers with the parts express kit. Kit being CNC'd, all the cuts were pretty much perfect so construction was a snap. Being new to wood working (new as in the only thing I've built out of wood from scratch was a simple table made up of 2x4's and a particle board top)... I can't get my cuts perfect... There's about 16th to 32nd of an inch off at one or two corners on some of the boards... by some miracle, some are square. This is done with a circular saw and a self made rip, no table saw. Is this going to be a huge problem come time for assembly? I try to get one board as close to square as I possibly can with my limited tools then rough cut the other pieces of similar dimensions and flush route them to at least get them to be the same dimensions. Here's a photo of what I have cut up so far, all that's left are the tunnels and braces. I know they may look decent in the photo but close inspections with a ruler will say otherwise. I'm not sure how accurate cuts needs to be for speaker cabinets but hopefully with my poor cuts but I hope it'll at least look like a box when I'm done. If there's any words of encouragement and or advice, I would appreciate them. I will continue to update as I progress if anyone's interested. After seeing all the absolutely awesome talent that had already built these speakers on here, I feel very unnecessary to show off my less than poor woodworking skills. Thanks in advance!

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1387.jpg
Views:	1
Size:	86.7 KB
ID:	871987
  • TEK
    Super Senior Member
    • Oct 2002

Hi