X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Ray_D
    • Apr 2005

New circle jig and driver cutout approach

I have been using a Jasper jig for several years and have found it less than terrific. I looked at the Router Buddy; but, it had some of the same issues and was expensive. So, I decided to make my own. First, I tried an approach that Pete Mazz posted several years ago that used a bushing guide and some holes drilled at the appropriate distances. It had the advantage that the router does not rotate so you do not get the cord windup; but, if you go half way one direction and then half way the other that issue goes away. I ended up moving on because I could not drill hole with the accuracy I wanted and decided an adjustable jig would be better.

Below are some pictures of the jig I came up with. It is made up of mostly scrap. One piece of 1/2" MDF serves as the platform and has holes for the bushing guide and the T-bolt. The top piece has two pieces of 1/2" MDF glued to the bottom to provide a channel for a piece of T-track which carries the pivot pin. The pivot pin is 0.2" in diameter so that when I set it, I add 0.1" to the dimension I want and set that to the outside of the pin and router bit.