X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • NoDestiny
    • Jan 2009

2 18" IB Manifold Design, look good?

Image not available

Just ordered 2 Fi Audio 18" IB subwoofers to replace my Dayton MKIII 12" ported. Designing a Manifold for it (this is my first attempt at IB) and wanted somebody to double check my work to see if anybody has some experience that can point out any mistakes or possible "I hate my life" issues in the design for the future.

The brown is MDF, Orange is OSB. The first baffle layers would be 1/2" MDF (unless I can only get my hands on plywood) to help flush the subwoofer up, as well as hang down to the drywall and allow me to put a few screws in to anchor to the studs. The rest of the MDF (sides, top, and 2nd layer of baffle where sub actually mounts) would be 3/4". I'm thinking 1/2" OSB would be enough... (?)

Width would probably be ~ ~20.75" ID (giving 1" each side from outer edges of subwoofer).

Plan is to mount box, cut out drywall, anchor box down to studs, put subs from inside manifold. Something about mounting subs from the attic just doesn't tickle my fancy I guess (but then again, that's why I'm here to ask)

I realize that there is a dedicated forum to IB (and ThomasW is commander and chief on the subject), but just wanted to get input from a more familiar forum.

Oh yeah, ignore my "not so much to scale" drawing... MS Paint does wonders when whipping diagrams together
    Last edited by theSven; 27 June 2023, 21:09 Tuesday. Reason: Remove broken image link
  • weverb
    • Dec 2009

The last two pictures show my two manifolds with Fi 18's. I just used two layers of birch plywood. I was able to make one manifold out of one sheet of birch.