X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • mlammert
    • Dec 2007

Mark's Statements Build Thread

Hey everyone,

I have been drooling over and pestering people long enough on the aspects of building the Statements... So, I am finally ready to start building my own...

I have never built a set of speakers before; except for maybe a sub box back in my college days... However, I would say that I am an average to above-average wood worker... So, I have decided to take the design of my particular Statements build up a notch...

I take a very analytical approach to my wood working... Very calculated and very thought out...

At the writing of this, I am about 98% completed with the calculations and designs of my speakers... In the next few posts I will be showing how I came to my calculations and how I designed all the pieces of the speaker...

Thanks to all who have helped me thus far and thanks to all who I am sure will help me more with the actual build!!! This is an awesome community...

Mark
  • mlammert
    • Dec 2007

How I Came Up with the New Size and Volume

Since my new Statements were going to have a different footprint (shape of bottom of speaker) I have to calculate how the new footprint will affect the height needed to get the proper air volume inside the speaker...

The following are my calculations on how I determined the exact air volume of the original Statements and then used that to figure out the air volume and ultimate shape of my new Statements...

Please, let me know if anybody sees any glaringly wrong calculations here... Or, if anybody has any questions regarding my logic...

Here it goes:

Original Volume for Original Statements Speakers
    All Dimensions Taken from Statements AutoCAD Layout PDF from Curt's Web Site

Overall Volume of Speaker Cabinet = 53.5 x 10 x 14.5 = 7757.500 cu in

Volume of Internal Bracing and Midrange Enclosures:

Shelf Brace = 0.75 x 10 x 14.5 x 1 = 108.750 cu in
    Cut Out in Shelf Brace = 0.75 x 8 x 12.5 x 1 = -75.000 cu in