X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Susan
    Moderator Emeritus
    • Jan 2001

HT Dilemma: Lifestyle Changes Part I

The last quarter of '01 brought along a slew of changes to my HT. I was home a lot due to illness, and there's nothing like having to stay home to make you realize that things need to be done! (yes, we CAN ignore that old wallpaper when we're at work all the time...)Even tho I am an interior designer by trade, we tend to be so burned out by having to work on others' homes that ours gets little thought (like the cobbler's kids who have no shoes!) What really started affecting the HT was the chain reaction from making changes in another room...especially in regards to furniture being moved around. It seems as tho our homes take on a personality after we've reached a certain age (or perhaps it's after you've been married a skillion years and accumulated/sifted/replaced/honed/resigned to certain furniture and things which you cannot dispose of?). Whether we are bound by "antiques" (and I use this loosely...old family pieces are usually called this whether deserving of the term or not) which we inherited, early-marriage furniture that's not bad enough to pitch but we're tired of, or just bad buying errors from the past, we all seem to have certain pieces we have to work around. Sometimes these are monstrous and really hard to deal with (like my husband's family's church organ in my living room...crowded in with a grand piano...call it a "music room", not a "living room"). More often they are simply not what we would ordinarily pick were we to choose today. It seems the only souls I know in their 40's that have the more lean, useful furniture without clutter have been thru a divorce to clean it out..and I'm certainly not advocating that route to rid yourself of unwanted belongings! So, most of us shuffle these pieces from room to room, trying to work out "the solution".