X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Tapesh
    • Oct 2003

Turntable: Thorens TD 190 or Music Hall MMF-5

Recently with the help your help I have decided to go with either of these two. Please help me decide which one is better. I am new to technology so don’t understand all the terms.

Thorens TD 190

Three speeds
    Automatic
    German tech, should be good quality & reliable.

MMF-5

Two speeds only
    Manual
    Scary details-oil & lubricant may be flowing around. as per website.

Don’t know who has better arm & cartridge

Thanks

Tapesh
  • David Meek
    Moderator Emeritus
    • Aug 2000

Hi Tapesh, I hope you don't mind, but I edited your post to turn the TT names into direct links using the addresses you supplied. If you are interested, it's easy to do, just edit your post to see the modifications.

Thorens has a very devoted following and for good reason. They've made good quality products for a long time. For me though, the Music Hall would be the choice. Belt drive (smoother motion than direct drive - better isolation), split plinth design (better isolation), supplied Gold Ring cartridge and record clamp, and all at a very good price. Also, don't let the lubricated bearing worry you. It's a "once- or twice-a-year peek at the level of the oil" operation. And again, IMO it's better from a smoothness of operation/rotation standpoint.

Regardless, listen to the same 2 or 3 albums on both units and then vote with your ears. Listen in your home if possible, so that way, you'll know exactly what each will sound like in your system. Good luck and let us know what you decide.

David - HTGuide flunky
    Our "Theater"
    Our DVDs on DVD Tracker

David - Trigger-happy HTGuide Admin

Comment

• Sonnie Parker
      • Jan 2002

I didn't even know Thorens was still around.