X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Ludwig Van Beethoven
    • Oct 2003

Reciever for classical music??

Hi Guys,

I am new to the HT reciever world and would like your guys opinions on which reciever will give me the best 2 channel sound for classical music. I currently have Klipsch RF-3 II speakers for the left and right channel, Onkyo TX-DS575X Reciever for the sound processing with Monster Z2 Biwire with banana plugs for the reciever and speakers. I have been reading on these reciever models below and cant decide on which one, please keep in mind that i am not into surround sound and DTS and PL II and the sorts, I want clean, warm and full 2 channel stereo for classical music mainly, I listen to music 90% and movies 10%. Please give me a great recommendation on which one will suit my needs and be an upgrade over my Onkyo.

Here are my choices below: Please feel free to recommend others that i havent listed in thier price range. My Onkyo does not have preouts for an external amp unfortunately

Denon AVR-3803
    Rotel RSX-1055
    Rotel RSX-1065
    Marantz SR-7300

Thank You so much and lastly how would the above recievers compare to my current Onkyo TX-DS575X in regards to clarity and sound for classical music?

Erfan
  • Burnsy1
    • Oct 2003

The onkyo is a decent unit itself. I have not used any of the receivers you mention but have used rotel amps and I have been very pleased with them. Great value for the money. You can certainly get better sound with a better receiver but you would get much better sound by switching to seperates. I used the onkyo 676 for a while, it had 5.1 outputs so I began purchasing seperate amps (rotel) and it really improved sound quality. Now I'm using an anthem pre\pro with the rotel amps and the sound quality improved vastly!

Comment

• 4_everyman
      • Oct 2003

LVB: