X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • BWLover
    • Jan 2009

format question

so i got a 1 month subscription to di.fm, i like electronic music sometimes. the subscription is for higher quality sound. so on each stream there is a choice of...

256k MP3
    or
    128k AAC-Plus

Now I plan on ripping some of this music, and would like to know which is better? My B&W's deserve the best i can get. Even if it is compressed. (which i dont normally put my speakers thru the stress of playing crap mp3's. But its a lot of good electronic music, and cheap.)

Thanks
    128K AAC-Plus
    31.25%
    256k MP3
    68.75%
    Bowers & Wilkins 683 Speakers
    Rotel RB-1090 2 Channel Amp
    Rotel RC-1082 Stereo Pre Amp
    Rotel RCD-1072 CD Player
    Pro-Ject Debut Carbon w/ Ortofon 2M Red (sitting on a piece of slate supported by 3 "solid tech feet of silence" isolation feet)
    Rotel RLC-1040 Power Conditioner
    Shynyata Research SR-Z1 Power Outlet & Venom 3 Power Cords x 4
    Tara Labs RSC Vector 1 Speaker Cables & Interconnects
    Pioneer PDP-5070HD 50" Plasma
    Playstation 3
    Shaw HD PVR
    Primacoustic Room Treatments
  • mjb
    Super Senior Member
    • Mar 2005

AAC is very good. I've read a lot of tests and comparisons, and AAC supposed to be at least as good as the next bit rate up in MP3. So, 128 AAC is probably better than 192 MP3 and as good as 256 MP3. I know this is subjective, and people will probably argue about it forever, but if you're downloading the tracks, I'd tend to go for a smaller file size with the newer codec. Why not do some blind test rips and see if you can tell a difference?
    - Mike

Main System:
    B&W 802D, HTM2D, SCMS
    Classé SSP-800, CA-2200, CA-5100

Comment

• MikeFL52
      • Oct 2007