X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • alaraz
    • Oct 2003

need help/input - center channel

the last few days i've been delving myself into reading up on building myself a center channel. the more i read the more stupid i realize i am. I am more clueless now than before I got this crazy idea

the problem: I have an armoire with a shelf above the tv. it is only 5.5" high, therefore not allowing for a large (good) center channel. the wife has laid down the law...if it doesn't fit there, too bad....no speaker.

I was thinking of an enclosure with two or four 4x6 woofers with a 2.5 mid and tweeter in the center. is this feasible? i am unable to find any 4x6 speakers for sale on parts express and other places. the speakers i read about from yall don't offer this type of speaker (or i haven't found it). only ones i can find are car speakers.

If i can get this solved plus an enclosure type, then i'll worry about crossover mumbojumbo later

I'm no expert on this, pretty much an electronic newb, but am determined to get a good center channel that will fit in there.
  • ThomasW
    Moderator Emeritus
    • Aug 2000

Rectangluar shaped drivers aren't a good idea. And the only kind you're going to find are cheap car models.

You'd probably be better off making a MMTMM with shielded dual 4"/5" drivers on either side of a shielded tweeter.

theAudioWorx
    Klone-Audio

IB subwoofer FAQ page

"Complicated equipment and light reflectors and various other items of hardware are enough, to my mind, to prevent the birdie from coming out." ...... Henri Cartier-Bresson

Comment

• alaraz
      • Oct 2003

thought so.

is it possible to fit a 5" driver in there with only .4 leeway total on top and bottom of the box? or should i just try for a 4.5 inch driver?

I would like to use the same driver in all of the satellites, same tweeter also. Not many places around here for me to audition different types of woofers (aluminum vs paper etc) so am unsure what I would like...