X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • JonMarsh
    Mad Max Moderator
    • Aug 2000

Foil Coils or plain ole wire?

One of the recurring questions that seems to be of interest to speaker builders is the matter of copper foil coils- does it make a difference, and is it worth the cost?

Well, first off, I'll be the first one to say, "Well, try it, listen to them in your own projects....see what you think..."

But some folks have been noticing there aren't any foil coils in the projects I've "published" to date, and wonder if it's something I'd consider, and when.

Now, a lot of you probably realize that my day job is technical, having something to do with power semiconductors. All true. More to the point, my background is SMPS design (prior to joining Siemens Semiconductors, now known as Infineon). In Switch Mode Power Supplies, we use coils (inductors), and sometimes at fairly high frequencies. How high? Well, some of my past projects, even 10 years ago, were operating in the 500 kHz region Quite a bit higher than CD Audio, in fact, that's almost the bottom of the AM Radio band; and those are square wave converters, with rise and fall times measured in a few nanoseconds. So, for the sake of arguement, let's say I have some familiarity with HF power conversion.