X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • justin
    • Feb 2003

Transistors& op-amps

Hi I'm a beginner in the diy electronics field. I need help with how transistors are used. Is there any beginner books out at the book stores or on the web. I need to know how operational amps are used too. Thank you

jus

Jus

Taking it one day at a time. Life moves quick.
    Jus

• Hank
    Super Senior Member
    • Jul 2002

Justin, welcome to the addicting world of DIY! Head on down to Radio Shack and pick up their beginner books. They used to have some written by Forrest Mims, a classic electronics educator to the DIY crowd.
    Warning: don't get into speaker-building - it's no fun :banana:

Comment

• justin
      • Feb 2003

Thanks hank for information. I'll give radio shack a closer look or maybe ask a sales person there.

thanks

jus

Jus

Jus

Comment

• JonMarsh
        Mad Max Moderator
        • Aug 2000

A good site for audio related design information, both some basics and some decent nitty gritty stuff is Douglas Self's site in England.

He's got a wealth of basic info and tips and techniques relevant to DIY audio design.

For OpAmps, a classic has been Walter Jung's "OpAmp Cookbook"- should be on your reading list; even Borders or Barnes and Noble will have it in at times. Don't be afraid to check the engineering sciences sections of those stores; they often have some good stuff.

And Hanks' quite right about the older books from Rat Shack; they have some very good ones on AC/DC circuit basics- maybe you don't want to review your s-plane math, but if you want to design RLC circuits from scratch the old fashion way, they cover all the important basics. Then, to make life easy, you can do your implementation in Excel or MathCAD.

Best regards,

Jon

Earth First!
        M8ta
        Modula Neo DCC
        Modula MT XE
        Modula Xtreme
        Isiris
        Wavecor Ardent

SMJ
        Minerva Monitor
        Calliope
        Ardent D

In Development...