X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Troy.S
    • Dec 2002

Rotel upgrade help please...

I’m very new to home theater and higher quality audio components. I must admit I don’t know much about audio equipment. I often can’t follow some of the conversations on this and other forums when they get very technical. I don’t even have a good understanding of how separate components fit / work together such as a pre amp and amp or using a receiver as a pre amp etc….

I’m ready to upgrade my current receiver which is an Onkyo TX-SV444. I have NHT speakers 2.5s front L/R, Audio Center I, Super One rear channels and Sub Two sub) will not be upgrading these for some time. I don’t typically trade equipment often; tend to hang on to things until they give out. On a recent and rare trip to a local audio store I was introduced to Rotel products. I was very impressed by the look-feel-sound of them. I also like the idea of separate components as opposed to all in one for issues such as upgrading and obsolescence. My questions are…

Does anyone know of a good resource to get up to speed on audio components, how they’re used and what this means to sound quality?

For getting into some of the Rotel equipment on a budget, is buying used a good option on some components? and not on others?

Where is a good place to look for used equipment?

As my needs are 50% music 50% HT, what are some recommendations for specific components?

I’ll stop here for now. Any help is greatly appreciated!

Troy.S

Troy.S
    Troy.S
  • SayersWeb
    • Dec 2002

Originally posted by Troy.S
    I don’t even have a good understanding of how separate components fit / work together such as a pre amp and amp or using a receiver as a pre amp etc…