Do you know of any DIY kits for speakers like these?

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • skvinson
    • Dec 2002

Do you know of any DIY kits for speakers like these?

I have never built speakers before, but am ready to dive in. Since I'm a total newbie, I planned on starting in the "kiddie pool."

I have always been interested in Newform Research speakers. I know a lot of owners modify theirs. I might order a kit from Rick Craig (Selah Audio). It comes with completed crossovers. I plan on modifying the shape of the cabinet. I thought this would be a good way to get my feet wet.

The catch: My wife. The WAF of Newforms is not very high. She is not totally opposed, but she would prefer something else.

I have been talking to Steve Dodds about his dipole design. That looks interesting, but would require 6 channels of amplication right away. I was planning on running the Newform clones off my receiver initially, then buying a good 2-channel amp later. Also, I'm not sure if I want dipoles or not. (BTW, these will be the front speakers in an HT/Music set up.)

I attended CES last year. One thing I noticed was I consistently liked the sound of tall, narrow baffle speakers. Among those, speakers by: Audio Physic, Vienna Acoustics & Red Rose Music. If you're not familar, here are those sites:

Audio Physic
    http://www.immediasound.com/AvantiIII.htm

Vienna Acoustics
    http://www.viennaacoustics.com/flash.html#

(Their site is a pain to navigate, but their speakers are nice. I especially like the Strauss & Mahler. I like the side-firing woofers.)

Red Rose Music
    http://www.redrosemusic.com/new_site/speakers.html

(I'm interested in their Classic - for now. The Revelation would be a great line array project for later! I liked the sound of the ribbon tweeter, which you can see in their Rosebud 2.)