X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Eric S
    • Sep 2000

DIY mains, MTM vs. MMT

Hi Folks,

I've become intreagued by some the DIY projects for mains I have been seeing around lately. Specifically, projects involving the Raven R2 look very interesting, like this one.

I'm kind of new to some of the design concepts however. So my question is, what is the practical difference between an MTM and an MMT design? I know is has something to do with the dispersion pattern of the tweeter, but I'm not sure on the specifics. I'm looking for a (relatively cost in-sensitive) system with excellent imaging and soundstaging.

Thanks!
    My DIY Theater Projects
  • ThomasW
    Moderator Emeritus
    • Aug 2000

Hi, And welcome.

The benefits of the MTM design are as follows.

1) when drivers are "stacked" in a vertical array, this creates a wide horizontal sound field.

2) if in a MTM design the woofers are placed close enough together, they couple acoustically and function as one larger driver. So this will create a speaker that radiates into the room the same pattern as a single woofer with a tweeter mounted in it's center.

MTM, aka. "D'Appolito" design, when done properly with correct cabinet design, speaker spacing, and appropriate crossovers, creates a "quasi-spherical" vertical response pattern.

The geometry for this to work properly requires the distance between the "centers" of the adjacent drivers, be kept close to one wavelength of the crossover's frequency.

The e-speakers design is the classic D'Appolito, and uses drivers of the highest quality.

The only drawback a design is using the Raven in a 2-way requires a very steep crossover slopes. This is necessary to "shutdown" the ribbon very quickly so it doesn't receive any low midrange information. If it does the ribbon melts.