X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Jeremy Santos
    • Aug 2000

2 Tempest Drivers In a 24"w X ????h Enclosure

Hey Everyone,

I need some help. As the topic states, I need to figure out how tall the enclosure will be for 2 Tempest drivers. What will be the minimum height for these two beasts. As I am a newbie to DIY, I will be getting the skills of Andrew to help me build this monster. What other info. do you guys need to help me out? The room is 19ft wide and 25ft deep with the ceiling only being 8ft high. So as you can see, it is a fairly sized room. Thanks in advance.

Jeremy Santos

My Software
    Santos Theater

Play It Loud, Play It Clean!!!!!
    Jeremy Santos

My Software
    Santos Theater

• ThomasW
    Moderator Emeritus
    • Aug 2000

Hey Jeremy, I'd be glad to model a sub for you but, sorry I can't read minds. At least not yet.

So do you want this to be a no-holds-barred max low output or something smaller? Ported or sealed?

Remember 2-15"s move alot of air so generally speaking the bigger the box the better.

So for example if you make the tube 11.84 cu ft that's 50" internal height this gives F3 25Hz Fb 18.98Hz with one 8" diameter port, 23.83" long.

If you go bigger 17.89 cu ft, that's 72" internal height you get F3 22.68 Hz, Fb 16.99Hz single 8" port, 17.7" long.

These are "quick and dirty" to give you and idea of the relationship between size and performance. When you decide on a size, I'll post a plot of the response. And give you all the specs.

If you can go just a little bigger we can hit the Fb 16Hz that Dan Wiggins recommends for the Tempests

theAudioWorx
    Klone-Audio

IB subwoofer FAQ page

"Complicated equipment and light reflectors and various other items of hardware are enough, to my mind, to prevent the birdie from coming out." ...... Henri Cartier-Bresson

Comment

• Jeremy Santos
      • Aug 2000