X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Patrick Sun
    Super Senior Member
    • Aug 2000

Primer question

If I coat my MDF endcap with primer (with paint underneath the primer coat) will lacquer react to anything underneath the primer coat which is covering up enamel/lacquer coats of paint. The enamel just totally hoses my lacquer coats of paint with ripples. I don't want to totally strip the paint off the endcap if I don't need to do so.

So am I okay in just recoating with sandable primer paint?

PatCave; HT Pix;Gear;DIY Projects;DVDs; LDs
  • ThomasW
    Moderator Emeritus
    • Aug 2000

Sorry, I'd say you're back to square one. I'm not a finishing expert but I don't think you can go back and forth with enamel and lacquer

BTW, I'd suggest the following alternative to the lacquer. Black polyurethane paint. Couple of coats then cover with a coat of clear poly. Much less hassle for pretty much the same look. And it's much more durable than lacquer.

If you want the outragious then there's a polyurethane product called "50-in-1". Very thick, one coat is as thick as 50 layers of regular polyrethane

theAudioWorx
    Klone-Audio

IB subwoofer FAQ page

"Complicated equipment and light reflectors and various other items of hardware are enough, to my mind, to prevent the birdie from coming out." ...... Henri Cartier-Bresson

Comment

• Patrick Sun
      Super Senior Member
      • Aug 2000

Eye-Yi-Yi! Thanks Thomas! I might just go really radical and go with the hammered metal spray paint then. Who knows!

Comment

• KennyG
        Moderator Emeritus
        • Sep 2000

I have refinished a few cars, and here's the rules.