X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • mml7
    • Jun 2002

RSP1066 and Samsung STB Audio problems

Hi,

I have a Samsung HDTV Set top box (SIR-T150) connected to my 1066 via a Coax cable and noticed the other day that the Samsung has two Audio output options: PCM and AC-3.

I have been using the the PCM option for a few months now without any problems. In this set up, the 1066 doesn't need to "re-acquire" the digital stream when I change channels on the STB.

The other day, I noticed during ABC's Hi-Def presentation of Gladiator that the sound wasn't nearly as enveloping as the DTS track on the DVD. On a lark, I switched the Audio output on the Samsung from PCM to AC-3 and found out that the sound improved noticeably. (the DD logo on the Rotel lights up under this config). The problem is, however, every time I change channels on the STB, the 1066 has to re-acquire the signal, and in the process sends an awful pop to all my speakers.

So my question is this: Is this normal behavior for the 1066 and AC-3 signals? Or is it a problem with the 1066 or the Samsung? With Coax connections? (I have not yet tried to see if this occurs on the optical connection (yet).

tia!

Mike
  • Andrew Pratt
    Moderator Emeritus
    • Aug 2000

Which firmware are you running? (press and hold Mute till the firmware # comes up)

This is often an issue with STB's but I thought Rotel tweaked the speed of the 1066 for digital signals with later firmwares.

Comment

• mml7
      • Jun 2002

Hi Andrew,

I was running 1.46 when I noticed it but the popping is still there even after I upgraded to 1.47.

Mike

Comment

Working...
      😀
      😂
      🥰
      😘
      🤢
      😎
      😞
      😡
      👍
      👎
      Searching...Please wait.
      An unexpected error was returned: 'Your submission could not be processed because you have logged in since the previous page was loaded.

Please push the back button and reload the previous window.'