X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • bonkler
    • Jan 2005

Suggestions on what to do.. RSX 1055 static, sound quality issues

Hey All!! After browsing the board for well over a year now, this is my first time posting here in quite a while. Let me get right to the point of why I now choose to emerge from the ether...

I've been the proud owner of an RSX 1055 that I purchased used 3 years ago after it received all of the latest firmware updates from the Rotel office (lab, factory, service center??) and have it configured in a 3 channel surround setup with a DVD player and Satellite tuner. The speakers are older but updated and well cared for (not to mention great sounding) Polk LS-70's, bi-wired, and the center is of a lesser quality Polk, but with the same wire config. There are no surrounds yet as the room this system lives in has little free space.

I've recently installed a dedicated 20A circuit over to where the 1055 lives and have a very modest surge protector (Best Buy quality) hooked up to it. My sources and TV are connected to another seperate set of outlets/15A circuit. All of this has worked flawlessly and sounded great for 4+months

until this week...

I currently can't plug the 1055 into any outlet around the house and play a CD or DVD or have the Sat. hooked up without major static and interference overwhelming the front 3 channels. It will do this intermittantly if I switch it to 2ch mode, but I see this condition the most while using Dolby, DTS or even the built-in sound processing DSP. It also seems to occur after the amps have had sufficient time to warm up as when the unit is cold and completely powered off for several hours, I can power it up in any outlet in the house, including the new circuit I installed without issue for about 2 or 3 minutes, but then the static overwhelms and the sound that's supposed to be playing completely fades from audible levels.