X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Club1820
    • Jan 2006

Digital or Analog Connection?

I'm a newbie when it comes to Digital Coaxial Connections. I posed the following question to Rotel and got the following response. Was wondering your thoughts on the subject.

Thanks!

"I have a Rotel 1068 Pre/Pro and a 1055 Cd Player and was wondering how should I connect the two together. Should I use the Analog connection of the 1055 or the Digital connection? Is there a difference or pro/con for each?"

Response: "THE DAC’S IN THE 1068 ARE BETTER THAN THE DAC’S IN THE 1055. THE AUDIO SECTION OF THE 1068 IS BETTER TOO. I WOULD RECOMMEND USING THE DIGITAL CONNECTIONS BETWEEN THE 1068 AND 1055. USING THE DIGITAL CONNECTION ELIMINATES THE NEED FOR ANY ANALOG HOOK UPS."
    Rotel 1068, Rotel 1060, Rotel 1055, Rotel 1095, Rotel 956, Rotel RLC-1040, M&K VX-860 Sub, Whatmough M30s, Squeezebox 3
  • Sim reality
    • Aug 2005

If you have the time and cables, listen to both... I find that in general the DAC implementation is nicer on the CD player then the receiver but you never know...

Comment

• Kevin D
      Ultra Senior Member
      • Oct 2002

If it were the single disc 1072, I would say analog. Being the 1055 CD changer, they are correct that the 1068's DAC's are better.

Like Sim said, try both and decide for yourself.

Kevin D.

Comment

• Club1820
        • Jan 2006

Hey. what's wrong with the 1055?!?! Just kidding. I like the convenience of the changer.

Thanks Kevin. I was wondering when you would chime in.
        Rotel 1068, Rotel 1060, Rotel 1055, Rotel 1095, Rotel 956, Rotel RLC-1040, M&K VX-860 Sub, Whatmough M30s, Squeezebox 3

Comment

• Pez
          • May 2004

Originally posted by Kevin D
          If it were the single disc 1072, I would say analog. Being the 1055 CD changer, they are correct that the 1068's DAC's are better.

Like Sim said, try both and decide for yourself.

Kevin D.
          I would have said the exact same thing if not already posted.