X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • IronBone
    • Feb 2006

RSX-1067 or separates..???

I'm new to the higher end of audio and I'm wondering what some of you think about purchasing a RSX-1067. First of all I haven't heard a Rotel system with my own ears but I will be getting the opportunity within a couple hours of now. I have read many threads off HTGUIDE.com and it seems that eveyone is very pleaseed with the value in their Rotel systems. I don't have a strict budget but I would like to keep it under $3000. Under $2000 would be real nice.

Current:
    HK AVR75
    Paradigm Monitor 90p -F
    Paradigm CC-370 - C
    Paradigm ADP-370 - R

40% music
    60% movies

Looking at picking up a RSX-1067 or possibly doing separates from Rotel. Am I wasting my time by buying a 1067 ($1600) that I will want to upgrade later or will it suffice? The other option I was looking at is Rotel RMB-1075 ($999)with a RSP-1068 (~$1200). I really don't need the 7 channels but I could use them in a different zone with the 1067. The 5 channel amp is good enough for what I looking at doing right now, one room. Above prices are quoted from local dealer.

Any owners that have had a 1067 and then upgraded to separates. If so, why?

ALSO, is the RMB-1077 worth the cash?

Your thoughts are much appreciated!!
  • twitchie
    • Apr 2003

Given your split, you could benefit from getting the lower model receiver and a separate power amp for your front channels - get the RSX-1057 (or whatever is current) and a nice 2-channel amp for the front

Personally, I moved to a separate 2-channel system and find my RSX-1055 much more than adequate for HT duty.

Good luck with whatever you decide

Comment

• cfrizz
      • Apr 2006

Hi IronBone. If you just intend to have one system for both music & HT I would go with separates & get the beefiest 5 channel amp that you can afford.