2 Channel Digital Receiver/Bookshelf Speakers Recommendations?

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • theodd
    • Sep 2005

2 Channel Digital Receiver/Bookshelf Speakers Recommendations?

Hey guys,

I've been reading post on the site for sometime but this is my first post. Here goes.

Basically I’m looking for a two-channel amp and a 2-channel receiver that would primarily be connected to my Power Mac G5 via an optical connection or the express purpose of listening to music.

Budget - $1000.00

I'm a musician and have always had studio monitors surrounding my LCD computer display so I'm a little bit spoiled. Right now I have a pair of Mackie HR824's. I'm taking a vacation from being a working musician and would like to transition to more of a music appreciator.

I have a Power Mac G5 which has an optical out on it. In the studio I used the optical out so I could run into high end DAC before sending to my Mackies. Now I need the “enthusiasts” solution for this system. I mainly listen to mp3’s (gasp…I know) from my iTunes library but I would also like to eventually connect a high end CD player to the mix as well.

Questions:

1) Are there any 2-channel amps out there that would have an optical input? I really want to avoid the Macs crappy converters I would have to use if I used the analog output. Most amps that have digital ins are for multi channel sound obviously. But I'll never use more then 2 channels.
    2) I’m pretty sure this is a non-issue, but would I have to worry about speaker shielding if I have a LCD display? Right now the Mackies are shielded for studio use and the new speakers would be sitting two inches away from my computer display.

So that’s it. I really could use any gear suggestions possible for this project. I’ve been listening to a few B&W bookshelfs and I like what I’ve heard so far.

Thanks in advance for all the help!
  • David Meek
    Moderator Emeritus
    • Aug 2000

Hi Wade, welcome to The Guide. :welcome: