Audio by Van Alstine Amplifiers, Pre Amps & Dacs?

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • NMyTree
    • May 2004

Audio by Van Alstine Amplifiers, Pre Amps & Dacs?

Has anyone ever heard anything from Van Alstine?

Anyone know anything about their designs and equipment?

I have some interest and I'm curious in their Fet Valve 550EXR Amplifier, OmegaStar 440EXH amplifier, Transcendence Seven Hybrid Tube Pre Amplifier and OmegaStar DAC?

I keep reading stuff about their superbly musical design and parts. And the Dac seems to get a lot of the same accolades.

I don't know anything about designs and so forth. I'm not very technically knowledgable of these things.
    Tony
  • JazzGuyy
    • Nov 2003

I have an AVA Omega amp. It is a rebuild of the Hafler 220 amp of many years ago. Hafler and Dynaco rebuilds and mods are how AVA got started I believe and many of his original circuits came out of the rebuilds. The Omega amp I have is very good. It is much quieter than the Hafler was and sounds very transparent. The only problem I have with it is that I get "birdies" through my speakers when I turn it off.

Comment

• David Meek
      Moderator Emeritus
      • Aug 2000

Birdies????? :scratchhead:

David - Trigger-happy HTGuide Admin

Comment

• JazzGuyy
        • Nov 2003

When I turn off the amp I get a sound like chirping birds through the speakers connected to it.

Comment

• NMyTree
          • May 2004

Have you talked to Frank about these eager little birdies, residing in your speakers? What did he have to say?
          Tony

Comment

• JazzGuyy
            • Nov 2003

Never bothered. I know that there are amps that do this. It has to do with how they shut down. The amp is long out of warranty now. I've had it about five years. I use it to power my surround speakers.

Comment

• autio
              • Mar 2005