X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • tboooe
    • Jun 2005

Preamp with built in Crossover??

Hi, I hope this is not a lame question but I am relatively new to this audiophile disease...

I really want to add a sub to my 2 ch only setup. Ideally, I would like crossover the signal going to my mains so that they can focus on mids and highs. The low signal will go to my sub.

As I understand it there are two way to do this:
    1. Send a full range signal from the preamp to the mains and the sub, letting the subs internal cross over handle the signal processing. The disadvantage here is that the mains are still getting the full range signal.
    2. Send the full range signal from the preamp to the sub, letting the sub first do the high and low cross over and send the resultant signal to the amp then to the speaker. I dont like this idea because I am worried that the sub's internal cross over may not be that good and could degrade the sound.

That leads to me question. Is there such as thing as a high end preamp with a built in cross over? Or do I have to purchase a preamp then a separate cross over?

Thanks for your help.
  • xk8boy
    • Jul 2005

you'll find most high-end preamp/processor will do what you're asking for and more.

Comment

• jim777
      • Mar 2005

If ever I get a McIntosh MVP861, this kind of problem will be solved at the source...

That being said, I dont think that sending the full signal to the amp is a big problem because the impedance seen by the amp at the frequencies filtered by the cross-over will be pretty high. That means that the amp driving the higher frequencies doesn't have to drive as much power and the same for the lower frequencies. And, you will still be getting benefits of biamping, because the EMF of the bass driver won't propagate to the higher-frequency drivers.

So it has to be experimented for each setup if the cross-over before the amps provides a better sound or not...

Comment

• whoaru99
        • Jul 2004