X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • tboooe
    • Jun 2005

2 ch pre-amp for my B&W 805S system?

What do people recommend for a 2 ch only pre-amp that would compliment my 805S + rotel rb1080 setup? I am very new to this as I am moving from a HT setup and pre/pro. Any particular brands I should look into or avoid? I am just looking for some initial direction as I fully intend to listen/audition the preamps that make the shortlist.

thank you,
  • krellfan
    • Jul 2005

What's your budget and particular must have features? Tube or transistor?

Some good preamps:
    Adcom 750
    Sonic Frontiers Line 1,2, or 3
    Pass Labs X1, X2.5 - I have the X1.

Comment

• tboooe
      • Jun 2005

Krellfan:

Thanks for the response. i would like to not spend more than $2K. All i really care about is something that sounds great and is a good match for my 805S and rb-1080. I figure preamps are all pretty simple in terms of operation so I dont need any fancy features other than maybe volume mathcing of different components. What features should I look for? Again, I am very new to all of this preamp stuff.

Comment

• Aussie Geoff
        Super Senior Member
        • Oct 2003

Tboooe,

I have cloned this from Club B&W to this forum where some 2 channel fans will be keen to help as well - doubling your success...

Geoff

Comment

• audiofan
          • May 2004

try rc-1070. This is good unit even though it's not the greatest. Or go with Musical Fidelity Integrated Amp A5 (new release).

Comment

• Bob
            • Jul 2000

What features should I look for?
            Although the terms have become blurred, usually a preamp has a phono stage otherwise it is called a linestage. I would suggest that you look at true preamps with phono stages. You never know, in the future it may save you from having to buy a seperate one.